Can a Christian Theologian be objective?

Apologies for lack of blog post yesterday; I was preaching on Sunday night and giving a lecture yesterday so I didn’t get time to write a post. The lecture I gave yesterday was for my fellow research students and to the lectures, senior lecturers and professors of my department, the Theology Department, in Bangor – yes I know, I was petrified! The presentation went alright but I must admit that I felt out of my depths when the questions came in at the end! I suppose that my mistake was to show sympathy towards R. Tudur Jones standpoint in my conclusion. (It’s a Theology Department in a Secular University rather than a Theological Seminary so this is a big no no!) It’s hard not to when, on the whole, you agree with his word view (I.e. Radical-Reformed Christianity); but I guess I learnt today that I need to be on guard as I write my thesis so that I come over objective in my narrative.

One thing that became clear to me after the lecture yesterday was that I needed to spend more time explaining where Tudur Jones comes from. One must understand the origins of his word view if one is to understand his holistic approach towards the relevance of Christ’s Lordship to all spheres of life including the nation and politics. I regret that I didn’t do justice explaining this today; perhaps I failed because I’m sympathetic and share Tudur Jones holistic understanding of the Lordship of Christ and therefore underestimated the need to spell it out to those who don’t share the view point.

So to escape and not just stay in and dwell over the lecture and think about the answers I should have given I went out to take some pictures. I’ve been wanting to take some pictures of Menai Bridge at night for some time. I went out last night and here are the results, very wow I think:

Pont Menai

More of the Menai Bridge collection, 2 March 2009

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Can a Christian Theologian be objective?”

  1. Jo Says:

    Interesting… I’ve never really heard of Tudur Jones, did he write much in English? We appear to have a book by him in our library, but it’s in Welsh, very useful to have in Manchester!

  2. Dyfed Says:

    As long as you declare your beliefs from the start, I would not let it worry you AT ALL. You are a Christian first and a theologian (historian?) second. The secularists may not like it (at Bangor especially) but your opinions are as valid as any – and your core beliefs (esp about the Lordship of Jesus) is truth.
    Don’t hold back and never apologise for what you believe.
    Dal ati, Rhys.

Leave a Reply

